Watch out for new Email Scams using Hallmark's name
Email Scams using Hallmark's name are on the rise again.
I have received 2 of these scam emails in as many days and have determined, with a little research into the email itself, that it is coming from a domain located in Japan.
According to Hallmark Corp., "A number of fraudulent Emails concerning e-Cards have circulated in recent months. These malicious e-Card notices take a variety of forms, with different instructions designed to obtain access to your computer files."
Please be advised that you SHOULD NOT click on any link in your Hallmark email. Hallmark Corp. recommends that you do the following:
- Type www.hallmark.com/getecard into your browsers. Do not click directly on the link in the notice.
- Take note of what you are asked to do. If you are asked for any information other than your e-mail address and the confirmation number in the notification e-mail, it is not legitimate. Close the notice and delete immediately.
- Enter email address and confirmation number (found in the notification email) in the boxes provided. (A confirmation number will be similar to this: EG1850861075806.)
We recommend that you be vigilant and careful about what you click on or open from ANY of your emails. As always, if you don't recognize who the email is from then DELETE it.
